Southern African Power Pool (SAPP)

SAPP coordinates the power systems of 12 Southern Africa Development Community (SADC) countries (Angola, Botswana, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe). Nine of the countries are so-called 'operating members', meaning they are linked to the interconnected grid that carries around 97% of energy produced in the SAPP. Total installed capacity in 2014 was 57 GWe of which less than 52 GWe was available. Most of the electricity is generated in South Africa, with 77% of the capacity. Demand exceeds supply. The World Bank has offered $20 million to fund regional energy projects under SAPP.

In August 2015 SADC announced that 24 GWe of capacity was under construction to come on line by 2019, about 70% of it from renewable sources and the rest from the big Medupe and Kusile coal-fired power stations in South Africa. The largest project was the first stage of the Grand Inga hydro power plant on the Congo River in DR Congo, which might eventually produce 44 GWe.


Ministério da Energia e Águas

Instituto Regulador do Sector Eléctrico de Angola


Ministry of mines and energy

Nampower (Generation, Transmission, Trading)

Electricity control board

South Africa

Department of energy

Eskom (Generation, Transmission, Distribution)

National energy regulator (NERSA)